Anne of Cleves House
Currently a museum that is owned and run by the Sussex Archaeological Society, the Anne of Cleves House in Lewes displays a large range off furniture and artifacts that bear meaning and interest to the area of Suffolk. These artifacts and exhibitions include large machinery such as iron fire backs, cannon apparatus and also a hammer from the Etchingham Forge and other Wealdon iron exhibitions.
The house itself is a 15th century, timber framed house - this style of house was very popular during these times, and is known as a 'Weadon Hall House'. It was given to Queen Anne of Cleves as part of her annulment settlement when she divorced King Henry VIII in 1541, though unfortunately she never actually visited the house. The building was restored in the early 1900's by the renowned British architect Walter Godfrey, and the bedroom and kitchen remain decorated as they would have been during Anne of Cleves ownership.
These days, the house has opened it's doors to the general public, so that they may explore and learn how the Tudors and Elizabethans worked, rested and played. It also features and open garden, full of traditional plants and Tudor garden and planting styles. It is also available to hire out throughout the year for weddings, family events, concerts and other functions, and every October hosts a 'Tudor Day', where the public have the chance to learn all about Tudor food and music, and can even meet the resident Tudor housewife!
The Anne of Cleves House can be found at 52 Southover High St Lewes, East Sussex, and is open from the 1st February - 30th November. Adult tickets are £4.90 and children's entry costs £2.70.