Beaumaris Gaol in Anglesey, Wales, while not being a grim or bleak looking building by any means, posses quite a dark and grisly past, having a large portion of its life being used as a jail. The building itself was designed by Joseph Hansom and built in 1829, with expansions and additions being made in 1867, so that the jail could accommodate more inmates.
During its years as a prison, Beaumaris Gaol witnessed some gruesome methods of law-enforcement against the criminals it held within its walls. These methods included chains, whippings and three day isolation in a dark, lonely, dingy cells. It also witnessed two hangings - those of William Griffith in 1830, and Richard Rowland's in 1862. William Griffith was accused of attempting to murder his own wife, and barricaded himself inside his cell on the morning of his execution (though the door was eventually forced open, and William met his swift end on the gibbet). The second man executed, Richard Rowland's, was found guilty of murdering his father-in-law, but protested and screamed his innocence up until his very final moment. With his final breaths, Rowland's cursed the church clock, saying that the clocks four faces would prove his innocence by never again showing the same time. And for a while, they did not, though this was later put down to high-winds (or so they say). Both unfortunate men are buried within the walls of Beaumaris Gaol.
After being used as a prison, the Goal became a police station, and was the location of the towns air siren during WWII. During the 1950's, the building was used, believe it or not, as a children's clinic, before finally becoming a museum in 1972. Beaumaris Gaol also boasts one of the last working treadmills in Britain, and is visited by 30,000 people every year.