The Georgian House Museum in Bristol is a beautifully and accurately restored 18th century townhouse, that boasts a whopping six storey's, and is one Bristol's most famous buildings.
The house was originally built in 1790, for a rich plantation owner by the name of John Pinney (1740-1818), who owned several sugar and slave plantations on the Caribbean Island of Nevis.
The house does not gain its fame from John Pinney, but rather from one of his slaves - Pero Jones. Pero was bought by Pinney when he was just 12 years old, and was brought to the Georgian House in Bristol, to be John Pinney's personal servant. Pero served for an entire 32 years, until his death, and now has a grand footbridge across Bristol's floating harbour named after him - Pero's Bridge, in honour of a slave who lived and died in the city.
These days, visitors are able to view 11 different rooms of the Georgian House in which Pero spent his life, including - the kitchen, housekeeper's room, John Pinney's office, two dining rooms, a library, the second floor bedroom and more. There is also a small exhibition detailing Pinney's role in the sugar trade, and, of course, Pero. The house looks almost exactly as it would have in the 18th century, and provides an insight like no other into the reality of both sides of life in the 1700's.
The Georgian House is open from 10.30am-4pm, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Saturdays and Sundays, and entry is totally free (though large groups should book in advance).