Moyse's Hall Bury St Edmunds
Moyse's Hall Museum is a public building in Bury St Edmunds with almost a Millennia to its name. Built in 1180 it is one of the few surviving Norman houses left in England, and is believed to be the oldest town house in East Anglia. The museum houses some of the, lets say, less savoury historical items such as man-traps, mummified cats and gibbet cages - a common method of death for murderers. thieves and traitors of the time - all embedded in the walls of this ancient English town house as a ward for evil spirits; 'a perfect place to scare the kids!'.
Building on the already gruesome horrors is the collection of relics from one of the most famous butcheries of the time, 'the Murder in the Red Barn'. This macabre collection includes the scalp of the guilty party, William Corder, and even a tome bound in the scoundrels skin.
It would be unfair to categorize Moyse's Hall Museum as a place solely to satisfy morbid curiosities, as it boasts not only an extensive collection of historical coinage and is the area's main site for local historical information.
Aside from the museums exhibits on crime, coinage and local history, the building itself has had an illustrious and varied past, with the building having been used for a variety of purposes; including local tavern, and for a period a gaol.