Parliament House Edinburgh
Parliament House is located in the Old Town of Edinburgh, near to St Giles Cathedral and the Royal Mile. Today used as the Supreme Courts of Scotland, Parliament House was previously used as the location of the pre-Union Parliament of Scotland. The oldest part of Parliament House dates back nearly 400 years, to 1639, and is known as 'Parliament Hall' - a building designed by James Murray and funded by the Edinburgh Town Council, to act as a permanent residence for the parliament.
However, just 68 years later, in 1707, the 'Act of Union' forced the Scottish Parliament to end and disband, and so Parliament Hall could no longer be used for its intended purpose. Instead, its function became for the sitting of courts, until recently, when the Hall underwent some renovation work. Parliament Hall is now mostly used as a meeting place for lawyers, which is made especially convenient thanks to The Advocates Library at the south of the Hall. This library dates all the way back to 1682, and is a vast legal resource that is widely used to this day.
Parliament House also boasts several stunning works of art, including two fireplaces with scenes from Shakespeare's 'Merchant of Venice' carved into them; the statues of 'Justice' and 'Mercy' created by Alexander Mylne in 1637; and statues dating from 1811 by Henry Erskine.