Sally Lunn's House
Sally Lunn's House on Parade Passage in Bath gets its name from a French Protestant refugee, who once resided at the house and is famed for bringing the 'Sally Lunn Bun' recipe to the city in 1680 - a recipe that is now are regional favourite. It was previously used during 1480 as part of the Duke of Kensingtons house, and later in 1725 as a post office.
Sally Lunn's House was bought by Marie Byng-Johnson in the 1930's, who revamped the building and turned it into a prosperous tea-room that specializes in Sally Lunn Buns. Marie's big promotional story was that she had discovered a secret, ancient, document hidden away in a secret cupboard many years ago, that proved that Sally Lunn's house was one of the very oldest buildings in the whole of Bath.
These days, not only is Sally Lunn's house a popular tea room and eatery, it is also partly a museum, where visitors can see the actual Georgian kitchen that Sally Lunn would have used to bake the original Lunn Bun's. Sally Lunn's eatery is open from morning breakfast through to post-theatre dinner, and prides itself on serving the most authentic, local food, one of the most popular meals being their famous 'Trencher dinner' - A meal served not on a plate but rather on a piece of bread called a 'trencher', which is eaten as part of the meal and is what was used before plates were invented in the 1500's. Sally Lunn's House is now a Grade II listed building.